Five faculty members awarded professorships, chair designations

They will use Foundation funding for research projects and to advance academic programs
Apparel design and development students model clothing at a Wear Fashion Show on campus. Professor Jongeun Rhee will use an award to work on improvements to the program. / UW-Stout photo
​Jerry Poling | May 31, 2018

Three professorships and two other special designations have been awarded to faculty members at University of Wisconsin-Stout to help them improve their areas of teaching expertise.

Robert Fraher has been named the Reinhold and Borghild Eng Dahlgren Professor for one year, from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, and will receive $8,500.

Jongeun Rhee has received the Lenore Landry Professorship for apparel design and development for thee years, from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2021. She will receive $7,000 a year.

Desiree Budd is the Maybelle Ranney Price Professor for one year, from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, and will receive $2,000.

David Ding and Adam Kramschuster have been named the Fulton and Edna Holtby Manufacturing Engineering Chair for three years, from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2021, and each will receive $25,000 a year.

The professorships and chair stipends, for which professors must apply, allow faculty to pursue professional development in scholarly or academic areas aligning with the mission of the university. Use of the stipends must meet state guidelines. Award recommendations are made by the Named Professorship Committee and approved by Chancellor Bob Meyer.

Funding for the professorships is through Stout University Foundation and has been approved by the UW System.

Robert FraherDahlgren Professorship

Fraher is an associate professor in the School of Art and Design and director of the graphic design and interactive media program.

He plans to investigate professional practices and tools related to mobile application design at design agencies in the Twin Cities and participate in an artist-in-residence program in the Netherlands.

The Dahlgren award is named after alumni Reinhold and Borghild Eng Dahlgren, husband and wife and 1917 and 1918 graduates, respectively, who left their estate to the university.

Jongeun RheeLandry Professorship

Rhee is a professor in the apparel design and development program.

In year one, she plans to review and update the program’s marketing and recruitment plan and initiate new industry-collaborative classroom projects. In year two, she will train high school and technical college counselors about program career opportunities and develop new research projects. In year three, she will streamline marketing communication efforts, measure outcomes and implement project results.

The award was established by Lenore Landry, a 1945 UW-Stout graduate in home economics education. Landry, a UW System specialist, was respected nationally for her expertise in textiles and clothing.

Desiree BuddPrice Professorship

Budd is a professor in the psychology department.

She plans to complete two large studies, which began five years ago, on the effects of repetitive head impacts on neuropsychological functioning. She also will submit a manuscript for publication and attend a national conference.

The ongoing studies have been in collaboration with faculty and undergraduate students.

The Price award, named after 1945 graduate Maybelle Ranney Price, is in recognition of outstanding ability and promise and provides support for the recipient's professional activities. The award is partially sponsored by the College of Education, Hospitality, Health and Human Sciences.

David DingHoltby Engineering Chair

Ding is a professor in the engineering and technology department and director of the manufacturing engineering program.

He hopes to strengthen the program with several initiatives: implement a new certification program, Industry 4.0, into the curriculum; build long-term co-op and project relationships with local industries; enhance the degree completion program with two-year colleges and other UW System schools; improve faculty and instructional staff professional development opportunities; provide more support for student competitions; and encourage more scholarly and hands-on research.

Adam KramschusterKramschuster is a professor in engineering and technology in the plastics engineering program.

He plans to evaluate the effectiveness of a recent advancement in injection molding machine technology, closed-loop control systems that provide feedback to constantly adjust machine inputs. Using state-of-the-art machines in UW-Stout’s lab, he will work with industry leaders, seniors in the program and student researchers while developing new lab experiments. He also will attend related workshops and seminars.

The Holtby endowment is awarded to faculty in recognition of outstanding ability and promise. Funds are to be used to support professional activities.

Fulton Holtby was a pioneering mechanical engineering professor for 41 years at the University of Minnesota. He and his wife supported UW-Stout’s technical programs with scholarships for engineering students; he received an honorary doctorate from the university. The Holtby Museum in Menomonie features equipment and tools from his shop and working models he created and manufactured.



Top: Robert Fraher

Second: Jongeun Rhee

Third: Desiree Budd

Fourth: David Ding

Bottom: Adam Kramschuster

Related News

All News

Game design-art student receives national scholarship

For many years, Michelle Bryant has dreamed of becoming an artist.

Industrial design graduate stepping into dream career in footwear

Mayhew collaborates on Crocs shoe that sell out during Pride Month

Reimagined learning environment awaits students for fall semester

UW-Stout faculty and staff have been thinking differently about what a college education will need to look like this fall.